The Last of Cameroon’s Grey Parrots

Grey parrots are found only in the rainforests of West and Central Africa, but they’re prized as pets in countries around the world. People are captivated by their beautiful colors, gentle nature and ability to mimic humans. But demand for the birds could be threatening their very existence.

The Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF) estimates that 450,000 of the birds were captured and exported from Africa between 1994 and 2003. The number would be even higher if it included illegal exports. Seeing the danger of extinction, many countries in Europe, North America and Africa have banned trade in grey parrots. Cameroon issued a ban three years ago. But conservationists say the measures have failed to reduce the trade. Illegal operations have continued and have even increased.

Ofir Drori is the director of LAGA, a wildlife law enforcement group that’s helping the government of Cameroon. He says despite the ban, at least 1,000 parrots are exported from Cameroon every month. Traffickers go through the Gulf of Aden. By moving the birds from one country to the other, the traffickers can eventually get them to Europe and the United States and designate them as locally bred.  “Trafficking in African grey parrots has become an organized crime,” says Drori. “It is a very, very lucrative trade. The margin of illegal revenue from trade in this species is very high, sometimes more than trade in ivory, which has a better international profile.

To read the full article, click here

5 Responses to “The Last of Cameroon’s Grey Parrots”

  1. I have 12 African Greys – my oldest is Charlie 22 years right down to my two babies hatched August 2009. I also have 1Blue & Gold Macaw. My birds are like my little village of children – this is SHOCKING!!! I have lost 4 birds in my 25 years of rasing African Greys and it was like losing my child…. this breaks my heart – why can’t these people be educated?? What the hell is wrong with them and the Government??? Why can’t they become protected???? They are close to extinction!!!

    • Hi Sharon,
      Thank you so much for your response. We feel the same. Pls spread the word about this article and Bush Warriors in general. We want to do more bird related articles and would love bird loves from all around the world to know about this.
      Thnaks Dori & The Bush Warriors Team

  2. I absulutly love birds and especially african greys they are so beautiful It would be great one day when I have kids to let them see these beautiful birds I just love them to bits It breaks my heart knowing that as soon as they become extinct everyone will soon forget them and the retards that have been killing them wont even care they will just feel rich and great WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH THEM
    I hope before they become extinct someone helps them please!!!!

  3. What can we do to help? Please let us know. I will repost this on my Facebook page. I think more people need to be aware of this. Knowing the sweet dispostion of my grey – this breaks my heart.

  4. This absolutely breaks my heart to see these African Greys like this, then I look at mine and I cry…………because somewhere back in her bloodline were the wild parrots that are now being killed by the hundreds, maybe the thousands. Animal Rights groups are so against the breeding of any animals, but how else are we to keep a magnificent species going, if they are extinguished in the wild? I believe more breeding in the United States will prevent people buying the wild caught and maybe that would help make this stop!

Leave a Reply

